Closer to Jesus

Last week I had the privilege of an extended visit with Dr. Bob Snyder.  He’s a former emergency physician who now trains international healthcare workers to train others (2 Tim. 2:2 in action!) to share their faith through International Saline Solution.

Throughout our visit, I received many gifts.  I’d like to share just two of them with you now.

The greatest gift I received was the example of Dr. Snyder’s relationship with Jesus.  Every morning he gets up early and talks with Jesus as a personal Friend.  In my head, of course, I know this is what it should look like, but many times it’s just going through the motions.  I left with a firm commitment that I needed to re-engage Jesus in a deeply personal way.

Not knowing this had been a challenge for me, Dr. Snyder also urged me to simply make the time to be with Jesus regularly.  I really needed to hear that – later bedtimes have been keeping me from getting up early enough to have quality time with God.  So, with God’s help, it’s been going much better.

My hope is that, if you need to, you will receive these gifts from Dr. Snyder through (and with) me.  Has your walk with Christ become infrequent and stale?  Within the limitations God has given you (perhaps rotations or taking call), what practical steps can you take to move in the right direction?  (Hint: sit down with Jesus personally and ask Him for next steps and the strength to live them out).

If you’d like to receive Dr. Snyder’s free weekly reflections, “Lessons Learned on the Journey”, or purchase his book, you can do so here.

About Bryan Stoudt

On my personal website (bryanstoudt.com), I help Christians follow Jesus in a noisy, broken world. I also have the privilege of helping Philadelphia's healthcare students and professionals do this as Area Director for the Christian Medical & Dental Associations (CMDA). More information at cmdaphiladelphia.org. On a personal note, I'm fortunate to be married to my wonderful wife, Sharon. Together, we have four fantastic children. In my spare time, I enjoy roasting coffee, running, reading and learning foreign languages.
This entry was posted in Discipleship and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

