“Lord, Show Me Where to Pause Today”

“Lord, show me where to pause today.”

I recently started using this prayer at the beginning of the day.  I heard about it from Dr. Kevin Vaughan, a former family physician, who has used it for years, and seen God answer it many times.

Of course, Jesus was the Master at this.  He was always in tune with His Father, and interruptions were welcome opportunities for ministry in His eyes.  Think about the time Jesus was with Jairus, en route to visiting his acutely ill daughter (Mark 5).  On the way, he was touched by a woman who had a bleeding disorder.  She was desperate because she  had “suffered much under many physicians, and had spent all that she had, and was no better but rather grew worse” (verse 26).  As soon as she touched Jesus, she was healed.

If I were Jesus, I would have just kept moving on, eager to reach Jairus’s daughter.  “Great,” I would have thought to myself, “I’m glad she’s healed.”  And that would have been the end of it.  On to the next patient.

But not Jesus.  He stops, takes the time to figure out who touched him, and made sure to proclaim her publicly healed so that she could once again join the community of faith and ‘normal’ society.  (Under Jewish law, her disorder had excluded her).  The well-being of this woman was more important to Jesus than His (or others’) agenda.

I admit that I’m far from where Jesus was in this (and every other) area.  I typically still hate interruptions, but I’m seeing God start to answer this simple prayer in my life.  Sometimes it’s only after the fact when I reflect at the end of the day, and sometimes He’s showing me when I didn’t yield to the interruptions He brings.  But at least He’s helping me move in the right direction.

I want to encourage you to join me in offering up this prayer to God at the beginning of your days.  Who knows how God will surprise you as you make His plans yours?

About Bryan Stoudt

On my personal website (bryanstoudt.com), I help Christians follow Jesus in a noisy, broken world. I also have the privilege of helping Philadelphia's healthcare students and professionals do this as Area Director for the Christian Medical & Dental Associations (CMDA). More information at cmdaphiladelphia.org. On a personal note, I'm fortunate to be married to my wonderful wife, Sharon. Together, we have four fantastic children. In my spare time, I enjoy roasting coffee, running, reading and learning foreign languages.
This entry was posted in discerning God's call, Discipleship, scripture reflections, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

